Isibaya is the leading contender at this year’s Saftas. The telenovela was nominated in the top categories including Best TV Soap, Best Ensemble, Best Writing Team and Best Director.

The show also snagged all three nominations in the Best Actor category for Sdumo Mtshali, Bongani Gumede and Siyabonga Thwala. In the Best Actress category, Isibaya stars Thembi Nyandeni and Celeste Ntuli clinched two of the three nominations.

SABC 1 drama, Intersexions also garnered a number of nominations. The HIV/AIDS awareness series, which also deals with teenage sexuality, peer pressure, violence and other social issues is expected to clear out the categories it has been nominated in. It also scored a hat trick in the Best TV Actress category with Tina Jaxa, Cebile Mlaba and Gcina Mkhize going head to head in the highly coveted category.

Here is an abbreviated list of the nominees:





Villa Rosa


7 de Laan

Rhythm City

The Wild


Best Actress in a TV Soap

Thembi Nyandeni  – Mkabayi Zungu in Isibaya

Celeste Ntuli – Siphokazi Zungu in Isibaya

Masasa Mbangeni – Thembeka in Scandal

Best Actor in a TV Soap

Sdumo Mtshali – Sbu Ndlovu in Isibaya

Bongani Gumede as Mandla Ndlovu in Isibaya

Siyabonga Thwala as Mpiyakhe Zungu in Isibaya

Best Ensemble in a TV Soap



The Wild

Best Director of a TV Soap

Adze Ugah and Denny Miller (Isibaya)

Sthembiso Mathenjwa (Isidingo)

Sanele Zulu (Scandal!)

Best Writing Team for a TV Soap

Rosalind Butler (Isidingo)

Charlie Sapadin (Rhythm City)

Writing Team (Isibaya)

Best TV Drama


Tempy Pushas

Room 9

Best Actor in a TV Drama

Mthunzi Ntoyi – Zola Yili in Montana

Siyabonga Thwala – Musa in Intersexions

Antony Coleman – David King in High Rollers

Best Actress in a TV Drama

Tina Jaxa – Nokuthula in Intersexions

Cebile Mlaba – MaDlamini in Intersexions

Gcina Mkhize – Manzuza in Intersexions

Best Supporting Actor in a TV Drama

Lidani Nkosi – Baba Khumalo in Dreamworld

Patrick Shai – Seakamela in Skeem Saam

Akhumzi Jezile Ngulube in Tempy Pushas

Best Supporting Actress in a TV Drama

Thembsie Matu – Sis Ribs in Rockville

Harriet Manamela – Meike Maputla in Skeem Saam

Motshabi Tyelele – Olga in 2020 Orlando

Best Director of a TV Drama

Intersexions Directing Team

Rockville Johnny Barbuzano

Tempy Pushas Libby Dougherty and Tebogo Malope

High Rollers Directing Team

Best Writing Team of a TV Drama

High Rollers Writing Team

Intersexions Brent Quinn, Gillian Breslin and Linda Bere

Rockville Gwydion Beynon and Phathu Makwarela

Room 9 Athos Kyriakides and Thuso Sibisi

Best TV Comedy

ZA News

Late Night News


Best Director of a TV Comedy

Kagiso Lediga (Late Nite News)

Segomotso Keorapetse (My Perfect Family)

Aaron Naidoo and Thierry Cassuto (ZA NEWS)

Best Actress in a TV Comedy

Meme Ditshego – Josephine Ga Re Dumele

Baby Cele as Portia Nkosi – My Perfect Family

Tsholo Monedi – Tiny in Skwizas

Lilian Dube – Mmane in Skwizas

Best Actor in a TV Comedy

Obed Baloyi – Tsutsuma in (Ga Re Dumele)

Boikie Pholo – Ratau in (Ga Re Dumele)

Mpho Osei-Tutu – Niko in (Samsokolo)

Best Writing Team of a TV Comedy

Kagiso Lediga and Karabo Lediga (Late Nite News)

Katleho Ramaphakela, Meren Reddy and Mpho Osei-Tutu (My Perfect Family)

Andrew Donaldson, Anne Hirsch, Marianne Thamm and Thierry Cassuto (ZA NEWS)

Best Ensemble in a TV Comedy

ZA News

Late Nite News

Ga Re Dumele

See full list of nominees here.